Malta is part of the European Union and the Schengen Area. Its always advisable to check regulations before travelling. EU passport holders will not require a visa.

Nationals from ALL OTHER countries require a visa. Applications must be made to Malta's Diplomatic Missions or consular posts. In countries without these Maltese facilities applications can be made to the consular post of other Schengen Area countries which represent Malta.

To obtain a visa you need to:

  • Fill in an application form
  • Provide a passport (with validity of at least 3 months)
  • Provide 2 passport-size photographs
  • Pay visa fee
  • For more information and to view the list of countries whose nationals are subject to visa requirement please click here.

    To get the contact information of all the Maltese Consulates around the world then please click here.

    Please make sure to check with a local Maltese consulate as to whether you need a visa or not.